Native Americans in Minnesota
This section of the guide includes resources from the Minnesota Digital Library that relate to Minnesota's native nations, including the Dakota and Ojibwe (Anishinaabe). Please note that most materials were created by non-native individuals and may not reflect the perspectives or experiences of the tribes themselves.
Dakota and Ojibwe
Dakota materials
Includes photographs and documents related to the Dakota in Minnesota.
Ojibwe materials
Includes photographs, documents, and recordings related to the Ojibwe in Minnesota.
Collections
Seth Eastman illustrations
Depicting Dakota life and culture in the 1840s-1850s.
Educational and religious books in the Dakota language
Published by the Santee Normal Training School for Native teachers and students.
Grand Portage reservation photos
Taken by Duluth photographer George Newton in the late 1800s.
Native American Boarding School materials
Photographs of Minnesota-based boarding schools, including the Morris Industrial School, St. Benedict's Mission, and Pipestone Indian Training School.
Stella Stocker photography collection
Snapshots from Native American communities and events in the 1910s.
Pow wow at St. Cloud State University
Held on campus in 1994.
Waasa Inaabidaa Ojibwe interviews
Interviews with Ojibwe elders for a television documentary on the history and culture of Lake Superior Anishinaabe from 1990s-2000s.
Related Materials
Dakota family with their lodge
Winnebago Agency House in Blue Earth County
Ojibwe family in the winter woods
Ojibwe men wearing ceremonial clothing
Ojibwe Indians in Ole E. Flaten's photo gallery
John Beargrease and his family
Portrait of Poh-ah-be-one and Pony Hoof
Red Lake, Leech Lake and White Earth Chiefs in Washington, D.C.
Ojibwe children with white settlers
Ojibwe members making a canoe in Ely
Making maple syrup at Mille Lacs Indian Reservation
Maxin Big Bear and Francis (Butch) Norcross harvesting wild rice
U.S.-Dakota War of 1862
Photographs documenting the U.S.-Dakota War
(particularly the sites and monuments)
⇒ For more, browse the U.S.-Dakota War tab in this guide.
Curated Resources
Minnesota History Timeline, Part 1
Part 1 of this timeline explores significant moments in the history and development of Minnesota from prehistory to 1900.
Minnesota History Timeline, Part 2
Part 2 of this timeline explores significant moments in the history and development of Minnesota from 1900 to 2020.
Seth Eastman: Depictions of Native American Life primary source set
Examine Seth Eastman's illustrations of Dakota life and culture, made when he was stationed at Fort Snelling in the 1840s-50s.
Stella Stocker and the Ojibwe of Minnesota primary source set
Visit early 20th century Ojibwe communities with musician and educator Stella Stocker through her photography collection.
About the Minnesota Digital Library
The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through free access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Our contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives. Begun in 2003, MDL includes digital content from over 200 participating organizations from across the state. Together we have digitized more than 60,000 photographs, postcards, maps, documents, letters, oral histories, and much more. These materials are available online in a free searchable database.
For more tips about teaching with MDL, visit our website or contact MDL staff.