Coming to Minnesota
Who came to Minnesota, when, and why? This section includes resources about immigration to Minnesota starting in the late 1800s and continuing throughout the 1900s.
Materials
The Land of Promise book, 1897
Northeastern Minnesota: Land of Certainties
Published by the state's Board of Immigration around 1919.
Mains family portrait in Russia before they immigrated to St. Paul
English class for new Americans
Wedding party of Austrian immigrants
“My Arrival in the New Country” by Nick Borovac
Norse-American Centennial materials from 1925, celebrating 100 years of Norwegian immigration to America
“The Vikings on the Prairie” radio address by Ole E. Rølvaag
Descendants of Christian Fossum family reunion
Reenactment of immigrants and the Statue of Liberty at the St. Paul Jewish Community Center
Collections
Minnesota Immigrants oral history collections, including:
- Hmong collection
- Indian collection
- Jewish collection
- Latino/Hispanic collection
- Somali collection
- Swedish collection
American Swedish Institute collection
Danish American Center collection
Icelandic Hekla Club collection
Norwegian-American Historical Association collection
Polish Cultural Institute and Museum collection
Curated Resources
Minnesota History Timeline, Part 1
Part 1 of this timeline explores significant moments in the history and development of Minnesota from prehistory to 1900.
Minnesota History Timeline, Part 2
Part 2 of this timeline explores significant moments in the history and development of Minnesota from 1900 to 2020.
Minnesota Immigrants: People on the Move
People have come to Minnesota from all over the world. Explore their stories for a broader view of the diversity of people who call Minnesota home.
Minnesota Immigrants: Immigrant Experiences
There is no one "immigrant experience" in Minnesota, but there are common themes. Experience what it was like over the years to be an immigrant with this exhibit.
Minnesota Immigrants: Preserving Culture
Learn about the cultural heritage of Minnesota's immigrants and how they have preserved their culture in this exhibit.
About the Minnesota Digital Library
The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through free access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Our contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives. Begun in 2003, MDL includes digital content from over 200 participating organizations from across the state. Together we have digitized more than 60,000 photographs, postcards, maps, documents, letters, oral histories, and much more. These materials are available online in a free searchable database.
For more tips about teaching with MDL, visit our website or contact MDL staff.