Postwar and Beyond
This section includes a variety of materials from the second half of the twentieth century. Themes from this era include a strong sense of Americanism and the development of new technologies, industries, and communities. It was also a time for activism, cultural pride, civil rights, identity, and new waves of immigrants who helped redefine what makes someone a Minnesotan.
Materials
Veterans' Housing at SCSU, 1947-1968
Constitution of the the American Legion, 1950s
Mahoning-Hull Rust Mine, largest in the world, 1950s
Vietnam War protests, 1960s
Aerial view of the state capitol and Interstate 94, 1960s
Computer Room at a Hennepin County government building, 1967
Minneapolis Urban Renewal and Public Housing map, 1968
Arbor Day tree planting, 1976
Geraldine Ferraro, candidate for vice president, speaks at a political rally in 1984
Beehive computer lab in the Engineering and Computing Center at SCSU, 1986
Citizenship classes at Hmong Cultural Center, 1990s
Interview with Supreme Court Justice Rosalie Wahl, 1994
Collections
Ore, Iron and Men magazine of the U.S. Steel Co., 1950-1963
Liebenberg and Kaplan, modern architects
Lakeside Ballroom event posters, 1950s-1960s
Rondo Neighborhood and Interstate Highway 94 materials, 1960s+
High voltage power line protest materials, 1970s
Dakota County suburbs, 1970s-1980s
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board's urban park system, 1970s-1980s
Speakers at St. Cloud State University, 1970s-1980s
“The Forum,” Inver Hills Community College student newspaper, 1970-2005
Unity Church Unitarian's refugee assistance program, 1980s
Hmong Cultural Center materials, 1990s
Quatrefoil Library collection of "Focus Point" GLBT publication, 1990s
"Waasa Inaabidaa" Ojibwe television interviews, 1990s-2000s
Curated Resources
Minnesota History Timeline, Part 2
Part 2 of this timeline explores significant moments in the history and development of Minnesota from 1900 to 2020.
Primary Source Sets:
- Twin Cities Streetcars – The Rise and Fall
- Rondo: Before the Highway
- Rondo: During and After the Highway
- Hilma Berglund and the Weavers Guild
Ore on the Range: Iron Mining in Minnesota
Explore the Iron Range and learn how the mining industry changed in the twentieth century.
War Stories: Korean War exhibit
Experience the "Forgotten War" through the words and views of Minnesota veterans.
War Stories: Vietnam War exhibit
Learn about the consequences of a long war fought far from home against Communism.
Minnesota Immigrants: People on the Move
People have come to Minnesota from all over the world. Explore their stories for a broader view of the diversity of people who call Minnesota home.
Minnesota Immigrants: Immigrant Experiences
There is no one "immigrant experience" in Minnesota, but there are common themes. Experience what it was like over the years to be an immigrant with this exhibit.
Minnesota Immigrants: Preserving Culture
Learn about the cultural heritage of Minnesota's immigrants and how they have preserved their culture in this exhibit.
About the Minnesota Digital Library
The Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through free access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Our contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives. Begun in 2003, MDL includes digital content from over 200 participating organizations from across the state. Together we have digitized more than 60,000 photographs, postcards, maps, documents, letters, oral histories, and much more. These materials are available online in a free searchable database.
For more tips about teaching with MDL, visit our website or contact MDL staff.