Mapping to MN State Standards
BACK TO RESOURCE PACKS HOME
The resources on this page have been selected by eLibraryMN and Minnesota Digital Library librarians and curators to support the MN English Language Arts and the Social Studies standards, both current and pending, specifically related to science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) topics. Resources in eLibraryMN and EbooksMN have unlimited simultaneous user access and are freely available to anyone geolocated in Minnesota. The primary source resources detailed are available to all, regardless of location.
Please reach out with questions or suggestions about linking to, using, or sharing these resources.
Academic Research
Below is a collection of available topic overviews that link to many related articles and resources within ELM.
EBSCO Explora STEM: Start here with your secondary students for a browseable break down of the world of STEM.
Science Reference Center
Ebsco's dedicated Science Reference Center, while included in a search of the EBSCO Explora Middle and High databases, provides a more curated collection of science resources.
EBSCO Explora High- Journals and Magazines in Full Text Don't forget that you can always just use the ELM databases for the full text journals that they provide. Link to magazines like Popular Science, Smithsonian, and Discover, where students can read without paywalls.
Gale- Topic Finder
Finally, Gale's topic finder is a great place to start a Science topic. Just type 'STEM' or 'SCIENCE' into the search box and watch it twirl down into subtopics.
Ebooks
This is a curated group of fiction and nonfiction ebooks, Grade Interest Level 9-12. All titles are available to students geolocated in MN without login. Linking directly to chapters is also possible. To link directly to the titles and share in your LMS or libguides, copy the link to the title(s) you want from our persistent link spreadsheet (if you are not accessing through the MackinVia app). Reach out to us with questions about linking.
Fractals Explains the geometric concept of fractals and where they can be found in nature. Describes different mathematics used in describing fractal patterns, and the history of geometric study. Explains constructal law and how scientists discover new fractal geometry every day. Also explores why fractal geometry matters, and what fractal patterns mean in natural design. Includes color photographs, fact sidebars, a glossary, an index, sources for further learning, and a fractal activity.
Double helix : how an image sparked the discovery of the secret of life Examines how an image known as Photo 51 changed the way scientists look at DNA and answered many questions about how organisms live, grow, and survive. Includes a timeline, a glossary, resources for further information, and color photographs.
Fukushima disaster : how a tsunami unleashed nuclear destruction Examines the nuclear disaster at Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant following the 2011 tsunami that hit Japan. Highlights the history of nuclear power and the long-lasting effects of the disaster that could linger far into the future. Includes a timeline, a glossary, resources for further information, text-related questions, and color photographs.
Energy Explains the meaning of the physical force known as "energy" and details examples of energy production and consumption in the natural world. Outlines modern energy research and provides an outlook for future technologies that harness and produce energy.
Primary Sources
Resources below are recommended by MDL curators from partners in primary source history.
Macalester College math classroom
Various mathematical diagrams and equations are written on this classroom blackboard.
High School science exam certificates
Lawrence Masterson received these certificates after passing his high school chemistry and physics exams. See all of his certificates for more on what he studied.
Dissecting a frog is a common way for students to learn about biology and the function of organs, tissues, and more.
"Ore, Iron, and Men" research article
Read this article to learn about the Oliver Iron Mining Company’s scientific research facility for the testing of minerals like taconite.
These students performed experiments in the chemistry lab at Bethel University. How similar and different is this lab compared with today’s labs?
Tenth Avenue Bridge engineering report
Engineers hired by the Minnesota Department of Highways inspected the Tenth Avenue Bridge across the Mississippi River and recommended certain repairs in this report.
Students study the Mississippi riverbed
Hands-on science can happen inside a laboratory as well as out in the field, as shown by these students making observations along the river in St. Cloud.
Hydrogeologic map of Minnesota
This map of Minnesota identifies the different types of bedrock and its related groundwater throughout the state, including limestone, sandstone, and basalt.
MDL Collections
Primary Source Set:
Construction of the Apron at St. Anthony Falls
Interlibrary Loan/Resource Sharing
For in depth research into these topics, sometimes you need to request materials from other libraries. These can be digital or they can sometimes be printed books. There are two main options for requesting these materials. One, MNLINK, allows you to search all Minnesota libraries for the requires the use of a public library card and PIN. While many educators use their own library card to help students, it is recommended that students use their own. However, this is not always possible, so there is a second option: Minitex Resource sharing for schools. This allows one staff member per school to request items on behalf of students and have the items sent directly to the school building. If you have questions about which option is better for you and your students, reach out to us and we can help.