Mapping to MN State Standards
BACK TO RESOURCE PACKS HOME
The resources on this page have been selected by eLibraryMN and Minnesota Digital Library librarians and curators to support the MN English Language Arts and the Social Studies standards, both current and pending, specifically related to citizenship, that are relevant to students. Resources in eLibraryMN and EbooksMN have unlimited simultaneous user access and are freely available to anyone geolocated in Minnesota. The primary source resources detailed are available to all, regardless of location.
Please reach out with questions or suggestions about linking to, using, or sharing these resources.
Academic Research
Below is a collection of available topic overviews that link to many related articles and resources within ELM.
Britannica School High: Citizenship Overview
Start here for an authoritative introduction to the concept of citizenship. Remember, you can adapt the resource to be more age-appropriate while retaining the same themes by adjusting the 'Reading Level' control.
Explora Libraries - Exploring: Citizenship
Explora Libraries - Exploring: Global Citizenship
Explora Libraries has two pages related to the topic of citizenship. The 'citizenship' page reflects a more common understanding of the concept, while the 'global citizenship' page expands the concept to a global identity rather than a national one.
Points of View Reference Center: Citizens' Rights Topic
For students who are ready to approach more controversial topics, the Points of View Reference Center: Citizens' Rights topic page provides a collection of different issues through a standard format: topic overview, point, counterpoint, and guide to critical analysis. Relevant topics could include: Free Speech and Social Media, Flag Burning, Women's Rights, Patriot Act, and more.
Ebooks
This is a curated group of fiction and nonfiction ebooks related to citizenship, Grade Interest Level 9-12. All titles are available to students geolocated in MN without login. Linking directly to chapters is also possible. To link directly to the titles and share in your LMS or libguides, copy the link to the title(s) you want from our persistent link spreadsheet (if you are not accessing through the MackinVia app). Reach out to us with questions about linking.
Citizenship, race, and the law
Examines the intersection of race, citizenship, and the law through history, discussing court cases, government actions, and efforts to end discrimination based on race. Also studies immigration reform. Includes discussion questions, sidebars, color photographs, a glossary, and further resources.
Walls and welcome mats: immigration and the American dream
Explores the history of immigration and immigrants in the United States, citing how legal immigrants today make up some forty million of the U.S. population. Discusses the achievements and contributions of immigrant U.S. citizens as doctors, construction workers, and tech experts, as well as family, friends, and neighbors, yet also have faced anger and violence disproportionately throughout history. Includes a glossary.
Examines Dreamers and DACA, the Obama-era bill that forgives immigrants who were brought to the United States as children and whose legal status may be in question. Contains sidebars that place the events within the larger context of race, civil rights, and immigration in America, and topics that have become political hot-button issues for all political parties. Includes a glossary, resources for further information, and color photographs.
Everyone who is gone is here: the United States, Central America, and making of a crisis
Provides an in-depth look at the history and causes of America's immigration crisis and the worsening conditions at the U.S-Mexico border as seen through the lives of four immigrants from Central America. Intersects these stories with those of American activists, government officials, and politicians while criticizing U.S. immigration policy.
Primary Sources
Resources below are recommended by MDL curators from partners in primary source history.
This high school newspaper discussed a citizenship class where local residents could learn about the history, geography, and government of the United States.
Some of the responsibilities of U.S. citizens include voting and serving on juries in the court system.
After arriving in Minnesota in 1963, Santa Mies discussed her difficulties in becoming a United States citizen.
Recording is in Spanish with an English translation in the transcript.
"Her Best Present": U.S. Citizenship papers
This "Ore, Iron, and Men" magazine article shares how Majoria Mattila from England became a U.S. citizen in 1952.
Interview with Benjamin G. Arriola
Arriola, originally from the Philippines, discussed the process of becoming a U.S. citizen after coming to Minnesota on a student visa. Search the transcript for more details.
Recognition for Hmong citizenship class
The Hmong Cultural Center held a ceremony for their citizenship class students who earned U.S. citizenship.
This election guide was published by the Inver Hills Community College in its student newspaper with details on candidates and issues that student citizens could vote on.