Mapping to MN State Standards
BACK TO RESOURCE PACKS HOME
The resources on this page have been selected by eLibraryMN and Minnesota Digital Library librarians and curators to support the MN English Language Arts and the Social Studies standards, both current and pending, specifically related to materials in languages other than English (LOTE). Resources in eLibraryMN and EbooksMN have unlimited simultaneous user access and are freely available to anyone geolocated in Minnesota. The primary source resources detailed are available to all, regardless of location.
Please reach out with questions or suggestions about linking to, using, or sharing these resources.
Academic Research
Below is a collection of instructions about how to use translation features in the ELM databases.
How to Change Languages in EBSCO Explora, or any EBSCO resource:
Watch the silent video below, or follow these instructions:
Step 1: You must be in an article for the functions to work- they are not available in the general interface. After you search for an article and click into it, Click on the 'online full text' option.
Step 2 Once in the article, click on the globe icon in the top right and choose the language you want.
Step 3: You can now download this article in the translated langague as a PDF and share it with students as needed by clicking the PRINT (Not download) button in the top right corner and saving as PDF.
How to Change Languages in Gale in Context:
Watch the silent video below, or follow these instructions:
Step 1: You must be in an article for the functions to work- they are not available in the general interface. After you search for an article and click into it, Click on the 'online full text' option.
Step 2 Once in the article, click on the top left icon and choose the language you want. Then click 'complete translation'.
Step 3: You can now download this article in the translated langague as a PDF and share it with students as needed by clicking the PRINT (Not download) button in the top right corner and saving as PDF.
Britannica: No need for a demonstration video- every article has a globe icon at the top. Click that to change the language.
ProQuest
To change the language on articles, go into the full text of an article and click 'translate'. This link is right under the article title. You can then download the pdf version of the article in the tranlated language.
In addition, a search in U.S. Newsstream can be isolated to Spanish-language resources only. US Hispanic News Stream, a collection of news sources in Spanish, is available. If you are starting at the main US Newsstream link and want to limit your search to just Hispanic News Stream, click 'select databases' on the home page above the search box. De-select all except Hispanic News Stream. At the bottom of the screen, click 'use selected databases', and all search results will be from Spanish - speaking news sources.
Ebooks
Currently Ebooks MInnesota has a small selection of Spanish language books for older readers.
Chronicles the adventures of the not-so-noble knight, Don Quixote, and his faithful squire, Sancho Panza, as they travel through sixteenth-century Spain.
Jekyll and Hyde
Upon developing a potion meant to separate the good and evil sides inherent in humans, Dr. Henry Jekyll loses control of his evil mind and becomes the villain known as Mr. Hyde.
A graphic novel in which Count Dracula lives in a castle in Transylvania. Jonathan Harker, who is on a business trip, decides to stay at the castle, but when strange noises take place at night, Harker discovers that the count is sleeping in a coffin.
La Guerra de los Mundos (War of the Worlds)
Following an attack by Martian invaders, a man named George is forced to find a way to survive a planet-wide war.
Los viajes de Gulliver (Gulliver's Travels)
Uses a graphic novel format to present the classic story of a sailor who encounters lands of tiny creatures and giants.
Primary Sources
Resources below are recommended by MDL curators from partners in primary source history.
Dakota language geography textbook
This geography textbook was written in the Dakota language for students at Dakota Mission schools.
Many Norwegian-Americans supported the prohibition of alcohol, and they distributed informational pamphlets and posters in both English and Norwegian to reach as many people as possible.
During World War II, several German prisoners-of-war were sent out as laborers to Minnesota farms. This letter was written by one of the POWs to his host after he returned to Germany. Note: Click on the blue "Transcript" button to read a translation of his message.
Tougeu Leepalao of the Hmong Cultural Center wrote this history book describing the Hmong lifestyle in Laos from the 18th to the 20th century.
Cultural heritage organizations preserve the languages, music, and customs of their ancestors. For a special event, the Icelandic Hekla Club printed this songbook with both Icelandic and English lyrics.
MayKao Hang was born in Laos to a White Hmong family and they immigrated to Minnesota in 1976. In this interview, she spoke in Hmong about her family, childhood, community, and experiences moving to Minnesota. Listen to more interviews with Hmong women in MDL. Note: This interview has been translated into English. Click on the PDF under the “Download” tab to read along.
Interview with Magee-Macoons (Robert Strong)
Magee-Macoons (Robert Strong) spoke in Ojibwe, his first language, for a television series on the history and culture of Lake Superior Anishinaabe. Watch all of the Waasa Inaabidaa interviews in MDL. Note: Click on the blue “Transcript” button to read a transcription and translation of his words.
MDL Collection: Minnesota Immigrants
Many interviews in this collection were conducted in the original language of immigrants to this state, including Hmong and Spanish.
Interlibrary Loan/Resource Sharing
For in depth research into these topics, sometimes you need to request materials from other libraries. These can be digital or they can sometimes be printed books. There are two main options for requesting these materials. One, MNLINK, allows you to search all Minnesota libraries for the requires the use of a public library card and PIN. While many educators use their own library card to help students, it is recommended that students use their own. However, this is not always possible, so there is a second option: Minitex Resource sharing for schools. This allows one staff member per school to request items on behalf of students and have the items sent directly to the school building. If you have questions about which option is better for you and your students, reach out to us and we can help.