Skip to main content

Learning Center

Information and training for library staff and educators to encourage and support high-quality information literacy instruction and research

Working with Databases

Need help or practice using the ELM databases? Check out the instructional materials below!

  • Fact sheets provide a basic introduction to databases. They highlight a database's unique content, interface functionalities, and reasons you might use it.
  • Activities offer you the chance to explore unique content and functionalities of the ELM databases.
  • Interactive tutorials help you practice using databases with guided support.
  • Recorded webinars are online classes given by librarians in the Reference Outreach and Instruction unit of Minitex. They provide context to the ELM databases, detail on what is included in those databases, and demonstration of search techniques.

Database Instructional Materials

Academic Search Premier Fact Sheet | Activity | Interactive Tutorial

Britannica Library Interactive Tutorial

Britannica School Fact Sheet | Activity | Interactive Tutorial

Business Source Premier Fact Sheet | Activity | Interactive Tutorial

Consumer Health Complete Fact Sheet | Activity 

Explora Kids Fact Sheet | Activity

Explora Teens Fact Sheet | Activity

Gale Academic OneFileSelect Interactive Tutorial

Gale In Context: High School Fact Sheet Activity | Interactive Tutorial

Gale In Context: Middle School Fact Sheet Activity

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete  Fact Sheet | Activity

Gale OneFile: Science Fact Sheet | Activity

Kids InfoBits Fact Sheet | Activity | Video

LearningExpress Computer Skills Center Fact Sheet | Activity

LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator Fact Sheet | Activity | Recorded Webinar

LearningExpress Library Fact Sheet | Activity | Recorded Webinar

LearningExpress Library School Center Interactive Tutorial | Recorded Webinar

MasterFILE Premier Interactive Tutorial

Points of View Reference Center Fact Sheet | Activity

ProQuest Newsstand Complete Fact Sheet | Activity | Interactive Tutorial

Science Reference Center Fact Sheet | Activity